Need help with RSMS?

​​​​​The Department of Training and Workforce Development accepts applications to certify positions for the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) for the following regions in the State:

  • Cocos & Chrismas Islands;
  • Gascoyne;
  • Great Southern;
  • Kimberley;
  • Mid West;
  • Peel;
  • Pilbara;
  • South West; and
  • Wheatbelt.

From 17 November 2017 the Perth metropolitan area is excluded from the definition of Regional Australia for the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS). Information about the RSMS is available on the Department of Home Affairs website.

The RSMS is a Department of Home Affairs program that allows skilled migrants to fill employment vacancies where there are no local Australian applicants available.

The guidelines for certification remain the same, as shown in the
checklist for a​ssessment​​.

​Under RSMS, employers in regional Australia can nominate skilled migrants to fill a full time vacancy – available for at least two years – when there is a genuine need for a paid employee.

To nominate a skilled worker under the direct entry stream​, the employer must be assessed by an RSMS certifying body​.

The Department of Training and Workforce Development is a certifying body and provides advice to the Department of Home Affairs on on whether RSMS direct entry stream applications meet set requirements.

For more information on the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme and other entry streams, visit the Department of Home Affairs​.

​Closures over the Christmas holidays

11 December 2017

The Skilled Migration Western Australia office will be closed from 2.00 pm Friday 22 December 2017, reopening on Tuesday 2 January 2018.


No assessment outcomes under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme will be sent during this time.


View all news

Start application for RSMS certification